Texas Lawmen and Women

April 14, 2008 (San Dimas, CA) Police-Writers.com is a website that lists state and local police officers who have written books.  The website added one female and two male law enforcement officials from Texas.

 Laurie Moore received her police commission in 1979, in Austin. She worked police patrol, criminal investigations, and was promoted to Sergeant in 1985. After 1985 until 1992, she worked as a DA investigator as a Sergeant Investigator, and later, Chief Investigator for several District Attorneys in the Central Texas area. In 1992, Laurie Moore moved to Fort Worth to attend law school, and retained her peace officer’s license as a Reserve Deputy for the Tarrant County Constables. She is still a licensed, commissioned peace officer, and runs a solo law practice in Fort Worth’s Cultural District.

 Laurie Moore earned her Bachelor of Arts Degree from the University of Texas at Austin. She pursued further post-graduate studies in Criminal Justice at Southwest Texas State University in San Marcos, earned her Juris Doctor from Texas Wesleyan University School of Law, and is licensed to practice law in the State of Texas, as well as all Federal Courts.  Laurie Moore is the author of The Wild Orchid Society, The Lady Godiva Murder, Constable’s Run, Constable’s Apprehension, Constable’s Wedding, and, Simmering Secrets of Weeping Mary.

 According to the book description go of Constable’s Apprehension, “Reserve Deputy Constable Raven returns in this page-turning sequel to the critically acclaimed Constable’s Run. This time, Raven’s got more problems than just a cheating boyfriend.”

 Glenn Elliott is a retired Texas Ranger.  According to Paul Harvey, “I don’t know what you know about the Texas Rangers but they are an elite corps of lawmen. Respected at all levels of law enforcement and revered in their home state.  And, if you had to pick on to represent the best of the best, that one would be Ranger Glenn Elliot.”  Ranger Glenn Elliot is the co-author of Glenn Elliott: A Ranger’s Ranger.

 In June of 1875, James Gillett joined the Texas Rangers.  Around 1881, he became a Deputy Marshal for the City of El Paso.  He resigned as Marshal in 1885.  He became a rancher and at some point was elected for a two-year term as sheriff of Brewster County. James Gillett is the author of Six Years with the Texas Rangers: 1875-1881.

 Police-Writers.com now hosts 969 police officers (representing 408 police departments) and their 2062 criminal justice books in 35 categories, there are also listings of United States federal law enforcement employees turned authors, international police officers who have written books and civilian police personnel who have written books.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: